DMA West Officers and Directors Elected

Julie Saupe, president & CEO, Visit Anchorage (AK), officially took office as Board President of the Destination Marketing Association of the West (DMA West) at the association’s annual Education Summit, September 21-23, 2016, in Mesa, Arizona.

Other officers elected at the Education Summit include President-elect Kim Bennett, president & CEO, Visit Vancouver USA (WA); and Secretary-Treasurer Marc Garcia, president & CEO, Visit Mesa (AZ). Sara Toliver, CDME, president & CEO, Visit Ogden (UT), will serve as Past President.

The following Board Directors were elected to two-year terms: Brent DeRaad, president & CEO, Visit Tucson (AZ), and Bonnie Quill, executive director of the Mat-Su (Palmer, AK) Convention & Visitors Bureau.

Terry Selk, executive director, Yosemite/Mariposa County Tourism Bureau (CA), and Barbara Steinfeld, president, Visit Tri-Valley (CA), were appointed to one-year Director terms to complete unexpired terms.

Board members continuing their terms as Directors include Debbie Braun, IOM, CDME, president & CEO of the Aspen (CO) Chamber Resort Association; Danielle Cowan, executive director, Oregon’s Mt. Hood Territory/Clackamas County (OR) Tourism & Cultural Affairs; and Anand Patel, CDME, president & CEO, Fairfield (CA) Conference & Visitors Bureau.

Newly elected DMA West Board President Julie Saupe (right) accepts the gavel from outgoing Board President Sara Toliver, CDME, at the DMA West Education Summit in late September.