Hickok Elected to U.S. Travel Association Board

Deb Hickok, president and CEO of Explore Fairbanks, has been elected to a three-year term on the Board of Directors of the U.S. Travel Association. Hickok has been professional in the field of destination marketing and management for nearly 37 years. She worked in Pennsylvania tourism until moving to Alaska in 1999 to become CEO of Explore Fairbanks. She previously served on the U.S. Travel Destinations Council. Under her guidance, Explore Fairbanks has received numerous awards, including the Governor of Alaska’s Exporter of the Year Award and the Destiny Award from the U.S. Travel Destinations Council. Hickok currently serves on two other boards of directors, the Alaska Travel Industry Association, which she chaired in 2011, and the Greater Fairbanks Chamber of Commerce. Hickok is a recipient of the Denali Award from the Alaska Travel Industry Association, which “is presented to a living individual for his or her outstanding leadership, professional excellence, and personal contribution to the Alaska travel industry.” Hickok and Camille Ferguson, executive director of the American Indian Alaska Native Tourism Association, who was also elected to the U.S. Travel Association Board of Directors, are the first Alaskans to serve on the U.S. Travel Board.